• Invest in Ivory Coast
    Invest in Ivory Coast
    Your gateway to West Africa
  • Invest in Mali
    Invest in Mali
    Discover Mali's huge potential for agriculture and energy investments
  • Invest in Burkina Faso
    Invest in Burkina Faso
  • Invest in Niger
    Invest in Niger
    Long under-estimated, Niger is back on center stage with attractive measures.
  • Invest in Senegal
    Invest in Senegal
  • Invest in Benin
    Invest in Benin
  • Invest in Togo
    Invest in Togo

WAEMU (West African Economic and Monetary Union) is a regional economic community composed of Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Bissau Guinea and Togo with a total population of around 112 millions inhabitants, and 3 506 126 km2.

They share a common currency, the CFA Franc, pegged to the euro at a rate of CFA 655.957 per euro. The WAEMU countries also share a common central bank, a regional real time gross settlement (RTGS) system, and a regional automated clearing house (ACH) has led to reduced transactions costs

WAEMU is a common market among the Member States, based on the free movement of persons, goods, services, and capital, the right of establishment of self-employed or salaried persons, as well as a common external tariff and common market policy.

The WAEMU GDP growth rate reached 7% in 2015 (Source: INS/C. WAEMU : RSM june 2016)

West Africa is also the most important investment destination for the EU in Africa. The EU’s stock in West Africa accounted for more than €32 billion in 2012 (31% of West Africa’s inward stocks from the world). Furthermore six of the eight UEMOA member countries are eligible for trade benefits under African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA), and four of these countries – Benin, Burkina Faso, Mali, and Senegal – are also eligible to receive AGOA’s textile and apparel benefits.

Focus Ventures can help your organization to find accurate and useful information on WAEMU countries but also provide support during the investment process (greenfield or brownfield)

Contact us